Niyamas of Bhakti Yoga

utsahan niscayad dhairyat tat-tat-karma-pravartanat
sanga-tyagat sato vrtteh sadbhir bhaktih prasidhyati

utsahat = by enthusiasm;
niscayat = by confidence;
dhairyat = by patience;
tat-tat-karma = various activities favorable for devotional service;
pravartanat = by performing;
sanga-tyagat = by giving up the association of non-devotees;
satah = of the great previous acaryas;
vrtteh = by following in the footsteps;
sadbhih = by these six;
bhaktih = devotional service;
prasidhyati = advances or becomes successful

There are six principles favorable to the execution of pure devotional service:

  1. being enthusiastie,
  2. endeavoring with confidence,
  3. being patient,
  4. acting according to regulative principles (such as sravanam kirtanam visnoh smaranam - hearing, chanting and remembering God)
  5. abandoning the association of nondevotees, and
  6. following in the footsteps of the previous acaryas.

These six principles undoubtedly assure the complete success of pure devotional service.